Internet Explorer no longer supports some features of our website. For best results, use Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.

Golf Tournament RickBeasleySteveSteinbacherRobHudspethRichardSparks_680_small

The 45th Annual Grover C. Robbins, Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament was held at Elk River Club on Monday, September 11, 2017. The event raised more than $36,500 to benefit the Seby B. Jones Regional Cancer Center. Sandi Cassidy, Director of Oncology Services, stated, “I cannot express the depth of my gratitude to everyone involved and for all the work that goes into making this incredible event so very special. Please accept my thanks to each and every one involved in making the 2017 Grover Robbins Golf Tournament a huge success.”

Golf Tournament BlueRidgeEnergy_680_small Despite the rainy weather brought on by Hurricane Irma, 20 well-spirited teams battled the elements. The first place team for lowest net score included Ed Hinson, Jack Hinson, Tony Golembesky and Jeff Dollar. Blue Ridge Energy sponsored the first place team for lowest gross score, which included Alan Merck, Scott Fogelman, Regan Sander and Randy Dula.


A legacy of helping our community

Since 1942, Spencer Robbins, co-founder of the Grover C. Robbins, Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament, has worked tirelessly to raise funds to support the Seby B. Jones Regional Cancer Center. In total, the tournament has raised over a million dollars to help fight cancer in the High Country. In 2011, Appalachian Regional Healthcare System honored Mr. Robbins as its Lifetime Achievement Award Winner for his service and dedication to support quality healthcare in the High Country.

Golf Tournament EdHinson_680 Appalachian Regional Healthcare Foundation (ARHF) would like to thank the following sponsors.

  • Tournament Sponsor: Wells Fargo
  • Signature Sponsors: First Citizens Bank, IH Services, INC., Medline, Paragon Revenue and Skyline Skybest.
  • Eagle Level Sponsor: Criterion Healthcare
  • Tee Sponsors: Alleghany Memorial Hospital Foundation, Allscripts, Appalachian Mountain Brewery, Appalachian State University’s Beaver College of Health Sciences, Horizon CSA, Modern Automotive, Mountaineer Golf Center, Premier Sotheby’s International Realty, Ronald and Debra Parr, Peter and Joni Petschauer, T. Bragg McLeod, and WJ Office.

ARHF would also like to thank Elk River Club, Brian Newman, Toni Littleton and the entire Elk River Club staff, as well as the players who participated in the tournament.

For further information about the tournament, contact Addie Cardwell at (828) 262-4391.

Share this page